Picking out a place to live is difficult. Apartment contracts make me feel like I’m on a merry-go-round.  Every year I have to rethink my budget, my commute, and how much space I can live with.  It’s exhausting!  We wish we could move into a house or townhouse but with my job being potentially in limbo it makes it impossible to narrow down a permanent location.  The Metro D.C. area makes me feel like I need to sell an organ to be able to afford some space to put my clothes, a parking spot for my car, and still eat food everyday.

On a more positive note, I force myself to remember how excited we were when we moved into our first apartment together.  We were so excited to have a space to call our own.  We were overjoyed to simply be together and I don’t want to lose sight of that happiness.

Living in a 400 square foot apartment for two years has taught my husband and I some valuable lesson about each other and about life.
1. We are almost perfect opposites.  He’s the spender and I’m the saver. He’s the clean one while I’m more laid back about cleanliness, etc.  On that note, our small apartment gets dirty quickly but it’s also easy to clean.  Only a few minutes of concentration and it’s spic and span.
2. I would much rather have experiences than material things.  I don’t need space for things to make me happy.  I vow to never own a storage unit, EVER!
3. Never take a washer and dryer for granted.  They are magical machines.
4. We are forever indebted to Command Strips, magical products.
5. Ice is a luxury item.

How do you feel about apartment living?  What lessons have you learned?  Was your first apartment a cubicle like ours?

-Mr. and Mrs. Cuddle Fish

 

Leave a Reply

